Past USGIF Award Recipients

Click the names of past USGIF award winners below to learn more about their achievements.

Academic Achievement Award

2019Aaron Gerace and Matthew Montanaro, Rochester Institute of Technology
2018Dr. Kathleen M. Carley, professor, Carnegie Mellon University
2017DIRSIG Development Team, Rochester Institute of Technology
2016The Geospatial Semester, James Madison University
2015Professor Dorota A. Grejner-Brzezinska & Dr. Charles Toth, Ohio State University
2013Dover Area High School, Geospatial Technology Program
2012Geographic Information Systems Program, Washington College
2011COL Michael D. Hendricks
2010Ms. Donna Bridges, Penn State University
2009Mr. Andrew Schaeffer
2008Sgt. Eric S. Patwell, 26th MEU
2007Ms. Gabriella Farris, GITP
2006Mr. Keith Luter, GITP
2005Mr. John Gutraj, GITP
2004Mr. Jeff Newby, NGA’s Geospatial Intelligence Training Program

Community Support Award (Previously Administrative/Support)

2019Taking Autism To The Sky, Inc.
2018Foundation Career Service Team, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
2017Dyah Goodman and Michael B. Mosteller, NGA
2016Exemplar City Inc.
2015Donna L. Pelle, NGA
2013Melissa Martz, NGA
2012Helen “DeeDee” Demes, The SI Organization

Government Achievement Award

2019Rachael Brady, CAL FIRE
2018Glen Canyon Dam Modeling Team, the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation and Autodesk Inc.
2017NGB-J2 DAART Development Team, National Guard Bureau
2016iMAP Team, Santa Clara County Fire Department
2015U.S. Army Geospatial Center
2013Robert L. Arbetter, NGA
2012Humanitarian Information Unit, U.S. Department of State
2011Kevin Slocum, NGA InnoVision LIDAR Team
2010U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) Enterprise GIS team (eGIS), Department of Homeland Security
2009Integrated Collection Management (ICM) Program Team
2008Open Source Center Address Finder Team
2007Space and Naval Systems Warfare Command C4I Support Team
2006The 5th Engineer Detachment, 29th Engineer Battalion, 8th Theater Sustainment Command
2005NGA Afghanistan/Pakistan Border Project Team
2004Future Intelligence Requirements Environment (FIRE) Program team of the Frontiers Division, NGA

Industry Achievement Award

2019Jeffrey D. Clark, Ph.D., Riverside Research
2018SpaceNet Team
2017SpyMeSat Team, Orbit Logic
2015George “Guy” Thomas, C-SIGMA, LLC
2013Pixia Corp.
2012Satellite Sentinel Project, DigitalGlobe
2011Gorgon Stare Industry Team, Sierra Nevada Corp.
2010Mr. Steve Panzer and Mr. David Hemphill, ObjectFx
2009Geospatial Engineers, Google Federal Team, Google Inc.
2008Mr. Christopher Jengo, ITT
2007 – Mr. Matt O’Connell, GeoEye
2006Mr. Wes Hildebrandt, SPADAC
2005Mr. Mark Ingersoll and Mr. Todd Ham, Harris Corp.
2004Geospatial Intelligence Database Integration (GIDI) Team, Raytheon Intelligence and Information Systems

Military Achievement Award

2019GUARDIAN Team, National Guard Bureau
2018Dr. Richard Massaro, USACE-ERDC Geospatial Research Lab
2017Canadian Armed Forces
2016Gunnery Sgt. Jesus M. Bocanegra, Marine Special Operations Company, U.S. Special Operations Command
2015AF/A2I SIRIS Team, U.S. Air Force
2013TACSAT-3 Exploitation Team
2012U.S. Joint POW/MIA Accounting Command
2011Justin Novak, U.S. Army Space & Missile Defense Command
2010Human Terrain Analysis Branch, U.S. Central Command
2009Eagle Express Production Team
2008Mr. Ray Caputo, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
2007Ms. Pamela McCue, DIA Missile Intelligence Space Center
2006U.S. Army ERDC Topographic Engineering Center’s Buckeye Team
2005Captain Chip Carr, NGA
2004Joint Intelligence, Reconnaissance, Surveillance (JISR) Advanced Concept Technical Demonstration Program (ACTD), U.S. Army’s Join precision Strike Demonstration Office

Research Achievement Award

2015George Stanley Bosarge, University of South Alabama
2013Richard M. Medina, George Mason University
2012Center for Geospatial Intelligence, George Mason University
2011Albert Yu-Min Lin, Ph.D.
2010Dr. Dennis J. Bellafiore, Senior Lecturer, Department of Geography, John A. Dutton e-Education Institute, Penn State University
2009Imagery Exploitation Course Team, National Geospatial-Intelligence Foundation
2008Capt. Robert Johnson, U.S. Air Force Officer, National Air and Space Intelligence Center’s GEOIN/MASINT Analysis Squadron
2007Dr. Swen Johnson, Socio-Cultural Intelligence Analysis Inc.
2006Mr. Scott Tabor, University of Redlands
2005Ms. Dorota Grejner-Brzezinski, Ohio State University Satellite Positioning and Inertial Navigation Lab
2004Mr. Andy Lee, Harris Corp.

Read about past USGIF Award winners’ experience at

2013 USGIF Academic Achievement Award Winner

2013 USGIF Industry Achievement Award Winner

2012 USGIF Academic Research Award Winner

2011 USGIF Academic Achievement Award Winner

2010 USGIF Military Achievement Award Winner

2010 USGIF Government Achievement Award Winner