USGIF Scholarship Program


To further the advancement of the geospatial tradecraft, USGIF is dedicated to assist promising students studying GEOINT, geospatial sciences, and related fields. The annual USGIF Scholarship Program recognizes the achievements of graduating high school seniors, undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral students.

USGIF has awarded $1,003,000 in scholarships since launching the program in 2004. The Scholarship Program is funded by donations, the Combined Federal Campaign of the National Capital Area (CFCNC), USGIF membership dues, and the USGIF Allder Golf Classic.


Scholarship recipients are selected based on their academic and professional excellence. Numerous scholarships at various amounts will be awarded. Students interested in using capabilities of geospatial science, data and technologies to address human security challenges are all encouraged to submit applications. Past scholarship recipients are encouraged to apply.

New in 2016: USGIF and Riverside Research have partnered to create the Ken Miller Scholarship for Advanced Remote Sensing Applications, a $10,000 scholarship annually awarded to one master’s student working in or planning to enter the Defense and/or Intelligence workforce.

Questions about the scholarship program can be emailed to

The 2016 USGIF Scholarship Recipients include:

Ken Miller Scholarship for Advanced Remote Sensing Applications

Anne Aryadne Bennett, University of Southern California


Michael Brady, Rutgers University
Monica Medel, Texas State University
Brad G. Peter, Michigan State University
Emanuel Arnal Storey, University of California, Santa Barbara/San Diego State University
Jennifer L. Whytlaw, Rutgers University


Roxanne Ahmadi, Pennsylvania State University
Allison Bohlman, Alabama A&M University
James Osundwa, University of Redlands
Andrew Ryan, George Mason University
Christopher Smith, Delta State University
Zachary Toll, George Mason University
Claire Weber, University of Utah


James Christianson, Delta State University/Mississippi Delta Community College
Hailee Hettrick, Cornell University
Tilden Remerleitch, University of Vermont
Kristin Sonsteby, Pennsylvania State University
Elijah Staple, University of Colorado, Boulder

Graduating High School Seniors

Georgia Bass, Monument Mountain Regional High School, Great Barrington, Mass.; now attending University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Courtney Fassett, Northwood High School, Irvine, Calif.; now attending University of Southern California
John Golden, Archer High School, Lawrenceville, Ga.; now attending Georgia Institute of Technology
Emma McFee, Bainbridge-Guilford, Bainbridge, N.Y.; now attending University of Utah
Gillian Sullivan, Fairfax High School, Fairfax, Va.; now attending University of Mary Washington
Grayson Sullivan, Westlake High School, Austin, Texas; now attending University of Utah

Read more about the winners here

Past USGIF Scholarship Winners

Click the years of past USGIF scholarship programs below to see the list of winners and to learn about their achievements.

2015 2014
2013 2012
2011 2010
2009 2008
2007 2006

Where are they now?

After receiving a USGIF scholarship, students go on to accomplish great things for the GEOINT Community. Here are past scholarship winners we would like to recognize for their work in helping forward the Community.