Lundahl-Finnie Lifetime Achievement Award

The Arthur C. Lundahl-Thomas C. Finnie Lifetime Achievement Award is presented, upon nomination and vote by the USGIF Board of Directors, to an influential member of the geospatial intelligence community who has dedicated much of his or her life’s work to the tradecraft.

This distinguished award recognizes contributions made by both Arthur C. Lundahl and Thomas C. Finnie, and celebrates their accomplishments—in imagery analysis and mapping, respectively—and their legacy within the GEOINT Community.

Arthur C. Lundahl

Art Lundahl is known as the “father of modern imagery analysis and imagery intelligence” for his work as the founder and first director of the National Photographic Interpretation Center (NPIC). Under Lundahl’s leadership, NPIC’s role to support the CIA’s deputy director of intelligence transformed the center into a national-level component of the Intelligence Community, and demonstrated image intelligence as a prime strategic and tactical resource worldwide.

Thomas C. Finnie

Thomas C. Finnie’s career with the U.S. government began in 1937, practicing engineering and surveying with the Department of Agriculture. In 1962, he assumed the position of technical director for the Aeronautical Chart and Information Center in Washington, D.C., and St. Louis, and was one of the initial eight Department of Defense planners who assisted in organizing the Defense Mapping Agency (DMA) in 1972. Later, Finnie became DMA’s director of management and technology. DMA consolidated the broad disciplines of mapping, charting, and geodesy, and helped to promulgate its evolution to digital geospatial information. Finnie was one of the primary architects of DMA’s evolution to a digital era.

Past Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

2020 – The Honorable Susan M. Gordon
2019 – Dr. Annette J. Krygiel
2018 – Dr. Edward M. Mikhail
2017 – Maj. Gen. (Ret.) Robert “Rosie” A. Rosenberg
2016 – The Honorable Martin C. Faga
2015 – Air Chief Marshal Sir Stuart Peach
2013 – Ms. Roberta “Bobbi” Lenczowski
2012 – Mr. Penman R. “Red” Gilliam
2011 – LTG (Ret.) Paul E. Menoher
2010 – Mr. Jack Dangermond
2009 – Mr. Charles E. “Charlie” Allen
2008 – Mr. R. Evans “Evan” Hineman
2007 – The Honorable James R. Clapper
2006 – The Honorable Jeffrey K. Harris
2005 – Mr. William R. Allder Jr.
2004 – Dr. Leo Hazlewood